rant/need advice

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by jteach89, Mar 27, 2013.

1. jteach89

jteach89 Companion

Mar 27, 2013

Idk if its just me or maybe because I'm a new teacher but am looking for some advice.

I am currently a new teacher, teaching 4 and 5 year olds (preschool). And Im in a classroom with and aid and assistant. I just graduated, and I guess I'm still transitioning from being a "student teacher" to a lead teacher. SO far I'm not happy where I am at. Often the aid will sit off and do nothing unless I tell them. I was told to be more assertive with both giving directions and orders because I am the head teacher in the classroom. I have trouble doing that cuz I expect people to know what to do but then again maybe they do not. On top of that, its some how taking two months for these people to pay me, and to today I got yelled at.

Not sure days if its lack of motivation, late pay, organization or what but been having days where I do not want to go to work and its ONLY BEEN TWO months and my first real job out of college. Maybe it's me not sure, I really do love kids, and will work on what I need to in order to make myself a better teacher. I don't expect perfection. Maybe I should work with an older group? I have no idea. I really love working with children and being in the classroom. Anyone has experiences of being new teacher in particular with early childhood? what things worked, what didnt work so that the days run smoother?

3. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Mar 27, 2013

Why did someone yell at you?
    Why delayed payment?

I'd keep my eyes open for other options...

4. jteach89

jteach89 Companion

Mar 27, 2013