Quitting the classroom to go back to school?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Pisces_Fish, Dec 6, 2015.

1. Pisces_Fish

Pisces_Fish Fanatic

Dec 6, 2015

I have been teaching for 8 years. I LOVE aspects of my job but I also know the classroom is not where I want to retire. I have been seriously considering applying to a School Counselor M.Ed program that's 14 months long and begins in May. I would be applying for the 2106 cohort.

I'm scared about a lot of things (loans! temporary unemployment! coursework! 700 practicum hours! etc…) but one thing that really worries me is needing to quit my job (next) May in order to begin my coursework. Will quitting a job before June hurt me in the future, or do you think principals would see this early departure as excusable? I teach on a traditional calendar so we end around June 10 each year.

Thanks for your feedback. I am a long-time member of this site but I took a long hiatus :)

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Dec 6, 2015

I think quitting early could end up burning bridges. If it is at all possible, you should try to "double-dip" for those last few weeks. The difference between leaving your current district on a positive note and leaving on a negative note could be the difference between having a job in September 2017 and not having a job in September 2017.

Backroads likes this.
  4. Pisces_Fish

Pisces_Fish Fanatic

Dec 6, 2015

Unfortunately, double dipping is impossible. Coursework starts full-time immediately and obviously I can't be in two places at once. This is so disheartening. It's upsetting to think a time period of roughly 4 weeks may make this dream impossible :(

5. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Dec 6, 2015