Quite a dilemma

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by newteacher1st, Aug 5, 2011.

1. newteacher1st

newteacher1st Rookie

Aug 5, 2011

I am a teacher in VA and have been trying to get a job where I am from in PA. I am supposed to start back to school in VA on aug 15. However, I got a call for my #1 PA school today. I am scheduled for an interview on Aug 10. It is going to be extremely short notice to my other school if I do get the job. Any suggestions about how to best handle the situation?

Also, I have been asked to bring my most effective reading lesson plan that teaches a comprehension strategy. Just to add a little more stress! Of course I have so many lessons in mind, but can't choose one. I would really appreciate any advice about the whole situation!!

3. SCTeachInTX

SCTeachInTX Fanatic

Aug 5, 2011

Well, it really is going to leave your other school in a bind. Your current school district does not have to let you out of your contract, and does the PA district know you are currently under contract? Most schools will not interview someone that is under contract.

Having said that, you can break a contract. The principal will usually let you out of your contract as soon as they have found a replacement teacher. Since you are leaving the state, at least you could claim that you had some kind of family emergency and had to return home.... I don't know that is a tough call.

I think your best bet is to be honest with your P upfront so that he or she can be thinking about a replacement, just in case that happens. Good luck and I hope you do well in the interview!

4. BioAngel

BioAngel Science Teacher - Grades 3-6

Aug 5, 2011

If you already signed a contract with the VA school, I think it would be unprofessional for you to back out of the position. Especially with school starting so very soon. In the future it might even make it harder for you to be hired for a position-- some schools might be worried you would do that to them again.