quick question for those with lots of interviews

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by pommom, Jul 28, 2015.

1. pommom

pommom Comrade

Jul 28, 2015

Do all teaching positions require a demo lesson? Has anyone got an offer by just doing the interview?

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Jul 28, 2015

I have been teaching for over 40 years. I have taught at about 7 different schools in that time. I have had about 9 teaching interviews in my career. I have never had to do a demo.

I think it may be a regional thing.

4. newteacher14

newteacher14 Rookie

Jul 28, 2015

I've gotten an offer after just an interview, no demo lesson. I'd say only about 10% of my interviews required a demo lesson. I feel like it depends on the districts/schools you are applying to.

5. msrosie

msrosie Rookie

Jul 28, 2015

I've only ever had to do a demo lesson when applying for a midyear position. I've never done one during the summer hiring season.

6. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Jul 28, 2015

I've never had to do a demo or a second round interview that wasn't with the superintendent or the board.

7. ChildWhisperer

ChildWhisperer Groupie

Jul 28, 2015

I've never done a demo lesson.
    Most of the interviews I went on required me to do 2 interviews, either a working interview (but not teaching a lesson) or a panel interview.
    Some gave me offers after the first interview.
    I'm scared for the day I have to do a demo, hopefully it never comes... :)

8. Jen84

Jen84 Companion

Jul 28, 2015

I have only had to do two demo lessons throughout the four years that I was interviewing. I was offered a job this summer that did not require a demo. Where I live, it depends on if the principal wants you to do one or not.

9. SCTeacher23

SCTeacher23 Comrade

Jul 28, 2015