questions regarding resume, cover letter and education requirements

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Linguist92021, Apr 14, 2024.

1. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Apr 14, 2024

At the local community college there are two teaching openings for which I have the required education (well for one, for sure, the second might not work)

My 3 questions are:
    I have an updated resume with which I have just secured a new teaching position (high school) an I l eave the resume as is? It talks about my past 11 years experience as a teacher and skills, education, etc. I can of course reword it to fit better for college requirements but I don't know what else I could do to it as I do not have any college or adult education experience.
    The same thing for the cover letter. The one I have used just recently worked well since it got me an interview within 2 days but I'm curious how I should change it since I have no college teaching experience.

My next question is about education requirements
    1 is for education content, I'm sure it's for prep courses in education to transfer to a university, and for this I do have what they require

The 2nd is for linguistics.
    I have a Masters in Education and Bachelors in Linguistics with a minor is Cultural Anthroplogy.
    The position asks for Bachelor’s in linguistics and Master’s in TESOL, anthropology, psychology, sociology, English or any foreign language; or equivalent education and/or experience (requires an equivalency).
    I don't have a masters in a foreign language but I do speak, read and write fluently another language (Hungarian) and I have an Associate's degree in another language (Arabic)

What are my chances with the second one? Is it a straight no, or is it worth applying and see what they say? Of course, I do want to apply for both.