Questions about Jehovah Witness and how to handle the holidays.

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by zoey'smom, Dec 4, 2011.

1. zoey'smom

zoey'smom Cohort

Dec 4, 2011

I teach Preschool and Kindergarten. I have been teaching for 13 years now and this is my first time I have had a Jehovah Witness. I am not sure what I can and can not do when it comes to the holidays. Any sugestions on how to handle the following: decorating the class room, holiday crafts, Holiday centers, Holiday snacks, holiday books and other activities to do with Santa or Reindeer. I usually do a count down to Christmas, is this out of line? The little girl already told me she does not like Christmas. I do not want to offend anyone, but I am not sure about Jehovah Witness beliefs. I am going to talk to mom tomorrow, but I want to see what others do at their school.
    The Principal already told me that the preschool will not be able to participate with a 12 days of Christmas thing, where the whole school dresses up to go along with a Christmas Carol or song. They will be wearing hats and scarfs one day and pj's another day. My favorite is the day where everyone is going to dress like their Grandma for Grandma got run over by a reindeer. So what can I do???? Help

3. comaba

comaba Cohort

Dec 4, 2011

I've had Jehovah's Witnesses as students. As I understand it, they don't celebrate any holidays, even birthdays. They also don't participate in activities that involve iconic representations of holidays. So, the holiday centers and crafts with Christmas trees, Santas and reindeer probably won't be acceptable.

The students I had last year didn't say the Pledge, and could not participate in an activity about US flag. I tried to be very sensitive to and aware of their beliefs, but I slipped on that one. :(

My district no longer has holiday parties during the school day, but years ago I remember students whose parents pulled them out of school on the afternoon of the party.