Question

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by WanderinTeacher, Aug 8, 2012.

1. WanderinTeacher

WanderinTeacher Rookie

Aug 8, 2012

I recently noticed that this site has a good mix of teachers and teachers to be, so I thought I'd ask for some advice:

I am a prospective teacher that has been subbing for 6 years in SoCal. I've had 5 long term subbing positions, at which one school did hire several new teachers, excluding me.

My credential expired and I extended it, but it feels like I'm in a rut. I've applied for hundreds of jobs, but gotten only about 10 interviews. Most of the time, I don't hear back. I apply online and in person to the schools around me.

Do I even stand a chance in getting a job? It seems like people often jobs because of who they know, yet while I've gotten quite familiar with the staff at the schools I work at, I don't get job offers. What am I doing wrong?

3. ShoelessGal

ShoelessGal Rookie

Aug 8, 2012

If you post your cover letter here, there are many here that will be nice enough to give you some tips on it. :)

4. acl1974

acl1974 Companion

Aug 8, 2012

I agree with posting your cover letter. It's something I need to do as well. I have seen some great feedback when other people post their cover letters. So many helpful people on this board. Good luck!

5. WanderinTeacher

WanderinTeacher Rookie

Aug 8, 2012

Here's my cover letter! Thank you :)

Name
    Address
    Date

[ ] (Name, position)
    School Address

Dear [ ],
    I would love to work at [ ] Elementary because of my aspirations to work in a district in a tight knit community. I noticed that the staff does an excellent job collaborating with one another while substituting at [ ] Unified. I am an instructor that teaches students as individuals, assists children in mapping their own learning, and utilizes technology to provide entertaining lessons.