Question regarding timing

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Clay Morgan, Apr 10, 2016.

1. Clay Morgan

Clay Morgan Rookie

Apr 10, 2016

A few weeks ago I attended a job fair and while there had a lengthy conversation with a high school principal. I'm looking to teach English and would love to teach world lit, and I was a journalist for over 20 years, so you can imagine the excitement both of us seemed to have when she said her journalism teacher doesn't want to teach the class next year and she can't find anyone to teach world lit.

We talked for probably 45 minutes at job fair. It was a great conversation and when I left her booth, she said, "Don't freak out if you don't hear from me until June or July."

Ummmm.....

For high school, is that a normal timeline? I've applied for a couple of high school positions in that district (and others) and am told they've not started interviews yet.

Not good for my nerves. Is this common in high school?

3. sharkbait

sharkbait New Member

Apr 10, 2016

I'm not an expert, but when I was looking last year some of the high school districts (including my top choice) didn't start calling applicants for first interviews until late June. There seems to have been a push in some districts to get things done sooner so they can fill their positions, but not everyone has jumped on that bandwagon from what I have seen. I talked to a few HR staff members at a recruitment faire yesterday, and one district had nearly all of their hiring done already, while another hadn't even determined their vacancies yet. It seems to depend entirely on the district policies and admin.

4. Nab

Nab Companion

Apr 11, 2016