Question: HW over Christmas break

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by ninabway, Jan 4, 2013.

1. ninabway

ninabway New Member

Jan 4, 2013

I'm a second year teacher at a tiny private school. I don't have other teachers in my grade to collaborate with, so I would love some of your input! I teach a combo 5-6-7-8 class. We had 3 weeks off for winter break. Because it was 3 weeks, I thought it was reasonable that the students read a book ("Hatchet") and answer a packet that totaled about 25 questions. One of my students did not do it. She received 1 out of 25 points. I sent the packet home with her yesterday and told her to get it signed by a parent. When I asked for it today, she said she didn't show it to them, and requested that I speak to her mom about it. I approached her mom after school, showed her the packet, and explained what happened. This student is in 6th grade. Her mom asked me why homework was assigned over the break. I was caught a little off guard. I thought it was pretty normal to assign middle schoolers work over the break, but am I wrong? (I flubbed some answer for the mom about trying to teach the students to become responsible now so that they're prepared for high school, etc.)

Basically, next year, should I not be assigning work over a 3 week break?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jan 4, 2013

You should be asking your school what their policy is regarding HW over such lengthy breaks.

4. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado

Jan 4, 2013

I teach sophomores and seniors and don't assign work over break, even for AP. They take exams before they leave so we've wrapped up all first semester material. I don't do work over break and I feel they should have the same privilege.

I agree with Cza though, check with your admin.

5. Myrisophilist

Myrisophilist Habitué

Jan 4, 2013