Question for Chicago area teachers!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by heyitssteph, Jul 17, 2014.

1. heyitssteph

heyitssteph Rookie

Jul 17, 2014

Hi everyone,

I am a grad student studying elementary education. I am hoping to work with older kids, possibly middle school level, although I am trying to keep an open mind.
    I graduate next year, so I won't be applying for a little while. I was wondering if it is really as difficult to get a job in the Chicago area as it seems? It seems like the only place to get a job is at inner city charter schools. Not knocking charter schools, the inner city or anyone who works or lives there! I was just wondering if it is realistic to get hired anywhere else without teaching experience. I would appreciate any feedback. Thanks everyone!

3. FourSquare

FourSquare Fanatic

Jul 17, 2014

It depends! What subject are you trying to teach?

The suburbs won't even look at you as a first year teacher. It's very competitive inside and outside of the city, but you will have an easier time at some of the rougher schools.

When I switched schools after my first year I got DOZENS of calls for interviews. I struggled to even get a few without experience, but I was also aiming for a desirable position (elementary). I think if I had been trying to teach SPED it would have been a little easier.

4. heyitssteph

heyitssteph Rookie

Jul 18, 2014

Thanks! I would love to teach middle school language arts.

What do you recommend as far as getting experience right out of school?

5. FourSquare

FourSquare Fanatic

Jul 20, 2014

You will have it a little easier in middle/secondary, but still brace yourself!