Question About Long Term Subbing in Sept.

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by MMRbella, Jun 11, 2007.

1. MMRbella

MMRbella Companion

Jun 11, 2007

Hello everyone!

I was just offered an opportunity to be a long term sub for a 2nd grade class, from Sept to Dec. Having just graduated, I really do not know what to expect...

Being that I am opening up the classroom for the new school year, do I essentially get to structure the classroom/routines in my own way? Or will the teacher do all of that, and I just do it her way? I've been subbing day to day since I graduated in January, and even though I am a new teacher, I have very clear ideas about the way I want my classroom set up. I am HOPING that I will be able to actually "be the teacher" until the other one comes back... but I do not know!

Seasoned teachers- please help!!! :eek:

3. E Bunni 99

E Bunni 99 Rookie

Jun 11, 2007

In my county, it is up to the teacher who leaves. If you want the sub to have the control of lesson plans and grading so that you can have your time off as needed- you may. But for those teachers who are control freaks you can make the lesson plans and do the grading and just have the sub follow along. I would recommend getting in touch with the teacher and seeing how he/she wants to have you work in the classroom.

4. TXTCHR29

TXTCHR29 Cohort

Jun 11, 2007

The teacher will most likely give you sub plans, as well as the way she runs her classroom (behavior plans, rules, consequences, etc.), because she will want her students to know the rules and what they should expect when their teacher returns. Teachers that I've worked with in the past who have been out for maternity leave, have had everything laid out for their long term sub.

I currently have a friend who is expecting and will be out at the beginning of the year. She is working this summer to make all her copies, write out lesson plans and set-up her room.

Good Luck.

5. TeacherRW

TeacherRW Cohort

Jun 12, 2007