Public school teaching positions applications result

Discussion in 'General Education' started by lollol9900, Apr 29, 2015.

1. lollol9900

lollol9900 Rookie

Apr 29, 2015

I just completed applications for teaching positions in various districts like one or two weeks ago.

They did not have many Kindergarten or first grade teaching positions open. I actually think I found one vacancy....

Anyways, I just applied to bunch of districts.

When do they usually get back to you?

It is my first time applying for a job so I was wondering when public schools reach out to candidates.

Thank you in advance!

3. teacherguy111

teacherguy111 Cohort

Apr 29, 2015

Varies by district. SOme want to get it done with, some want to wait until school is out. No set time or way of doing it, at least here in Ohio.

4. Newb

Newb Rookie

Apr 29, 2015

It's going to depend on where you're at and what the people doing the hiring like to do, unfortunately.

Where I'm at, most districts have a policy that jobs must be posted for 2 weeks before they officially hire someone. Some will go ahead and call applicants back immediately, some will wait until the 2 weeks is up, and some might even wait until school's out for the summer.

It's VERY common for new teachers here to land their first jobs at the last minute in July or August. That's because experienced candidates or student teachers with inside tracks get the first shot at the early openings. Then when those teachers move on from their old jobs, their old employers will open things up and there's another big round of hiring that starts in July. It's like a game of musical chairs and new teachers slot in at the end of it.