Public Education Sucks

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Culturanta, Nov 19, 2015.

1. Culturanta

Culturanta Rookie

Nov 19, 2015

I don't want to get too specific online....suffice it to say I am at the "breaking point" so many teachers reach right before leaving the classroom forever. My frustrations are garden variety, shared by everyone else who has ever set foot in a classroom.

At this point I can safely say that while I know I am a good teacher, and have a very specific skill set that is valued/valuable, that I am in it mostly for summer and winter vacation. I do not get much joy from my job. I enjoy some of my students but have extreme negative feelings toward more of them than I care to admit.

Administration is the major problem along with all of the other nonsense that goes along with public education.

I don't want to flush my hard-earned graduate degree down the drain (Lord knows I can't do the same with the bills for said degree), but I don't think I want to be in a traditional K-12 classroom anymore. I considered becoming an admini-critter, however have since discarded that idea as I am already overwhelmed as a teacher and cannot imagine how much worse I would feel as an administrator.

I would love to branch out into higher ed, but that sector is facing tremendous pressure and problems as well, and I would need to invest a considerable amount of time/$$ into a doctoral degree. Not sure about that one at the present time especially given the dearth of jobs in so many disciplines of academe.

Where do we burnouts congregate when we hit this wall? And who has managed to hit the wall and stay in the game?

I'm so disgusted at the moment, if I didn't have the common sense not to screw myself royally, I would resign this afternoon.

3. ms.irene

ms.irene Connoisseur

Nov 19, 2015