Pros & Cons of being a School Employee?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by CoachT, Aug 16, 2007.

1. CoachT

CoachT Rookie

Aug 16, 2007

I'm not a teacher, but I am a volunteer Coach at a public school. This week I applied for an open Office Admin job at the school, and now I'm panicking about all the pros and cons of working for a public school (I'm currently working in the private industry as an Admin).

Can you give me some advice about working for a school? The good and the bad regarding benefits, time off, salary?? I know NOTHING about what to ask/look for when signing a contract. HELP!

Thanks a million :love:

3. CoachT

CoachT Rookie

Aug 16, 2007

Or maybe someone can steer me to another website for classified employees? I'm having a very hard time getting information, and I have an interview tomorrow!! Eek!

4. eduk8r

eduk8r Enthusiast

Aug 16, 2007

What do you mean by “office admin” job? You mentioned classified employees, so did you mean an administrative assistant position or something like that? Advice about working for a school, this forum is probably the best place to get a feel for the environment, which is going to be way different from any other “office” job. You could search on the topics you’re curious about here. Benefits and salaries are usually not negotiable, they are already written out. If you want to know how much you would make at the position you’re interviewing for, go to that district’s website and pull up the classified salary schedule. Benefits you find out about when you sign the contract. You can go to edjoin.org and find out what the job requirements/descriptions are at other districts probably including the one you are applying with. Classified employees in our district work 220 days a year. That’s all the information I have, hope some of it was helpful. If you can be more specific, others might be able to answer your questions better. Good luck on your interview tomorrow.

5. CoachT

CoachT Rookie

Aug 16, 2007