Pros and cons of teaching in an open-space classroom?? HELP!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by teacher_cc, Jun 17, 2008.

1. teacher_cc

teacher_cc Rookie

Jun 17, 2008

I had the opportunity to interview at an open-space school (no walls in classroom). I liked EVERYTHING the school had to offer, in addition to the principals mission and vision for the school, which is important! However, I'm a new teacher, this may be my first classroom; I'm a little nervous because I'm so used to the traditional classroom. My student teaching and long-term subbing was in a traditional classroom setting.

What can anyone tell me about the open classroom type of teaching environment?? THANKS!

3. peachieteachie

peachieteachie Comrade

Jun 17, 2008

I have never taught in an open classroom before, but I know people who have. Some love it and others hate it. I think the noise would bother me, but I'm a little ADD. I get SO easily distracted, but this can happen in a regular classroom as well.

4. Calalilys

Calalilys Comrade

Jun 17, 2008

My only concern would be the noise from the other classes and my students being distracted by what is going on in the other "rooms." Did the principal explain why the school was built like this? I would be curious to hear the reason why.

5. Erin Elizabeth

Erin Elizabeth Groupie

Jun 17, 2008

My school was built as an open school but was converted into separate classrooms in the early 90's. As a result, all of our rooms are strange in size and shape, but all the teachers who are still working here like having traditional rooms rather than the open areas. The most universal complaint was the noise.

6. lou reed

lou reed Companion

Jun 17, 2008

Mine's psuedo-open (quads that are separated by two sink areas, but we have, like, walls and hallway doors and junk.) The noise can be a little distracting, but not nearly as bad as I thought it would be.