proper spelling?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Anne Marie, Jul 20, 2005.

1. Anne Marie

Anne Marie Rookie

Jul 20, 2005

I am a new teacher that is needing some help on some spelling..lol. I am not married, and never been married..so do I use Ms. or Miss before my name? I had always heard that if you have never been married: Miss. If you are divorced or widowed use Ms. Will someone settle this one for me? A lot of people are addressing me as Ms., and would rather be called Ms. What's the right way? THANK YOU!

3. camcdade

camcdade Comrade

Jul 20, 2005

I've always heard that "Miss" is for younger unmarried women. "Ms." is for either widowed, divorced or older unmarried women. I don't think there's a particular age when "Miss" has to become "Ms." if you're unmarried. I think it's just what you prefer. I'll be interested in what other's say!

4. AMK

AMK Aficionado

Jul 20, 2005

I am 25 and I use Miss for my name. I know some of the other teachers were older than me and not married used Miss. Use what your comfortable with. I had a parent who called me Mrs all year even though I signed everything Miss.

5. Steph-ernie

Steph-ernie Groupie

Jul 20, 2005

I'm 23, never married, and I use Ms. In my opinion, Miss conveys someone who is young and perhaps immature. Not always, but I think it sometimes can, and I view Ms. as a more professional title. But, like AMK said, I often get called Mrs. I just deal with it.

6. Anne Marie

Anne Marie Rookie

Jul 20, 2005

I'll go with Ms. then. I feel more comfortable using that title, just didn't want to be looked at funny if I used it. Thanks guys for the input!

7. Anne Marie

Anne Marie Rookie

Jul 20, 2005

Question again..I may use Miss. Do I put a period after Miss? It seems like I heard once that you don't do that for Miss. THANK YOU!

8. Margo

Margo Devotee

Jul 20, 2005

No period after Miss. It is not an abbreviation like Ms. and Mrs.

9. hanvan

hanvan Connoisseur

Jul 20, 2005