Project Based Schedule Help?!?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by teach24iam, Jan 21, 2013.

1. teach24iam

teach24iam Comrade

Jan 21, 2013

Hi there! I was offered a job as a director in a new pre-school that is going to use a project based curriculum.. I have never used this before and always used pre-published curriculum. I have NO problem with this method or theory, but am having trouble developing a daily schedule... does anyone have one I can look at as a reference and ideas? Thanks so much! :)

3. teach24iam

teach24iam Comrade

Jan 21, 2013

anyone?

4. scmom

scmom Enthusiast

Jan 21, 2013

In the Reggio environment I am familiar with, they called it a "Flow of the Day." You have an order of the day, but aren't stuck with specific times so that if the kids are super interested in something, you can extend that portion of the day. Imo, it is still important to have some type of structure - free play, snack time, nap, etc. but just be more flexible about the when and where, if needed.

With a project-based curriculum, it is about not setting themes in advance but following children's interests and creating the experiences as you go along. Projects emerge from their interests and may last much longer than regular themes (or die a quick death from non-interest.) They often morph into something different than you started with, and often mean studying something much more in depth than you would with a 1 week theme as many schools do.

I am somewhere in the middle. If Blue answers, she has more experience with this format.

5. teach24iam

teach24iam Comrade

Jan 22, 2013