Professional attire? Dismay!

Discussion in 'Student & Preservice Teachers' started by kilgore_trout, Nov 10, 2007.

1. kilgore_trout

kilgore_trout Rookie

Nov 10, 2007

Ok, so I'm a little nervous/confused about professional dress. Yup. Preee-ty darned perrrr-plexed.

Beyond the general principle of dressing like a professional to be treated like a professional, I feel like it's critical for me that I get my appearance just right for several other reasons. I'm young (I'm 28, but all the students think I'm about 23), I'm female, I'm new at this (obviously) and I'm teaching seniors. Sixth period seniors.

So, obviously throwing on a business suit isn't going to solve all of my respect/classroom management issues, but it sure as heck can't hurt, I'm thinking. I even bought a pair of Danskos, like every other woman in the English department. I wear nice slacks or skirts with stockings, blouses, etc, and I feel like I look pretty professional, but the details are getting to me. I can't shake the feeling I'm playing dress-up.:confused:

So, does anyone have any advice? I've looked and looked, and everything's really vague, and seems to assume people pop out of the womb knowing how to identify 'professional dress.' After University, I worked as a house-painter, a line cook, a telemarketer, a picture-framer and a bartender. None of these things prepared me for the 'nylons and ironing' situation!!

Some examples:

1) I have this denim jacket. It's tailored: cut like a nice, businessy jacket with a mandarin collar, but it's made out of denim. Is that a no-no?

2) I have 1/2 plugs in my ears that I stretched to back when I assumed I would be a rock-star when I grew up. The earrings I have now are flat black, and pretty much everyone assumes they're normal earrings, but I'm paranoid someone will discover my dark secret. Problem is, I can't just not wear anything, because it looks straight-up WEIRD.