Processing Death

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Roobunny, Jun 25, 2013.

1. Roobunny

Roobunny Comrade

Jun 25, 2013

My father died Friday night. He took his last breath as I held his hand...it's been so very hard for me. His death wasn't unexpected, but it doesn't make it any easier to processes. I've had trouble sleeping and my appetite comes and goes.

To make matters worse, my wedding is Saturday. Understandably, I've been incredibly sad. All the excitement I was feeling about the wedding has disappeared. I've been feeling very "out of it" and blank the last several days.

How can I deal with such strong and mixed emotions?

3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Jun 25, 2013

I am so sorry, Roobunny.

I have a lot of experience with deaths of family members. I don't know if I could go ahead with a wedding, but each person is different in response to grief. Also, it may be what your father wanted for you. If it is, that could help you. Your father wanted your happiness and comfort, I am sure. Know that a celebration doesn't 'cancel out' grief; they both exist in life, but we don't always experience them so close together.

Medication could help, too.

4. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jun 25, 2013

Hugs and hugs, with my deepest condolences.

What you're feeling is normal, I'm afraid: despite knowing that death is inevitable, and even when death is imminent, one really doesn't expect one's parents to die, somehow.

On a practical level, you might benefit from a short-term sleep aid, and possibly from finding something to do in your father's honor.

Again, my condolences.

5. Ted

Ted Habitué

Jun 25, 2013

Roobunny, I just wanted to offer my sympathy and let you know that you and your family will be in my prayers.

Not sure if you've ever been one to explore art, but I know of many people who have found it helpful to scrapbook their loved one's life. Maybe you would find it healing if even just a little bit.