Procedure help!!

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by Nikkiski21, Oct 9, 2015.

1. Nikkiski21

Nikkiski21 Rookie

Oct 9, 2015

Okay so I'm a new teacher, 5th grade ELA. I'm having some issues with behavior management and procedures that I could really use some advice for...the first thing on my list is the bathroom issue! Yes, who knew it could be an issue?

Everyday I have tons of kids leaving my class to use the restroom. It's tough for me because I give them the first ten minutes of class to sign out and go...but some of them take so long and then the list gets backed up! And I'm starting a lesson with someone still in the restroom. I hate it! And I know some of these kids are just doing it to get out of class. So I started giving them a minimum bathroom pass of three times a week in my class. They sign their name on the chalkboard after using the restroom. Then they put a checkmark next to their name when they go again. Once their name has two checkmarks, they're done for the week. However, while this had made the issue a little less of an issue...the chalkboard is a mess. The handwriting is terrible, the checkmarks are backwards. I need help...is there a better way to go about doing this or monitoring bathroom issues? I have no clue how to handle this.

Next issue...I have one class who loves to challenge me. I several kids in the class who never stop talking, even when I give them behavior marks (our discipline plan). They are constantly talking out and questioning me to the point where the other kids are suffering because I constantly have to be talking time away from a lesson or activity to tell the misbehaving kids to stop. What do I do here??