Procedure for early finishers

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by old n new, Jul 29, 2008.

1. old n new

old n new Rookie

Jul 29, 2008

I am new to first grade and I was wondering what your procedures are for those who finish an assignment early. What kinds of activities do you have for them to do? Thanks for your ideas!

3. Ilovefirst

Ilovefirst Comrade

Jul 29, 2008

I have my first graders either

- read from their reading bags (browsing boxes)
    - read from the classroom library
    - finish something else that they didn't get to earlier
    - do an independent file folder type game
    - write in their journals
    - sometimes I have fun worksheet type things but I try to limit those because some race through their work just to do one.

4. TeachMe3

TeachMe3 Rookie

Jul 29, 2008

I agree with Ilovefirst.

They could also review their spelling words, or use flash cards.

5. JBteach

JBteach Companion

Jul 30, 2008

I have my students work on an activity book, clean their desks, and organize some of my papers that need to be in number order. All of my students have a number that they write next to their name on all of their papers.

6. firstgradeteach

firstgradeteach Comrade

Jul 30, 2008

Ditto to all of the above. I also have fun hands on games organized on shelves. The students can freely go choose an items and bring it back to their desk. I change these out monthly based on what we are learning. I have 7-10 items for reading time and 5-8 items during math time.

7. teacher143

teacher143 Rookie

Aug 2, 2008

What kind of games do you have? I wanted to try having games available this year, but I am at a loss for ideas. What do you mean by items? Do you have 7-10 games for reading?

8. lemonhead

lemonhead Aficionado

Aug 2, 2008

I am glad someone asked this. I just bought a poster that says something like what to do when you're done. As a teacher, you mark the things they are allowed to do.