Problems with parents - not sure what to do.

Discussion in 'General Education' started by kid_teacher, Mar 15, 2009.

1. kid_teacher

kid_teacher Rookie

Mar 15, 2009

Hi,
    This is my first time posting, but I have read for a long time. I teach a self-contained 3rd grade class. I am having trouble with a parent and I'm not sure how to deal with it. I would really welcome any advice!

I will call the child Bob. Bob failed first grade and is very tall for his age. I look him eye to eye when we face each other. He can be a very sweet boy. He loves positive attention and seems to thrive when I give him that. The children take turns sitting beside me at lunch and he always looks forward to that and chatting with me.

However, Bob also has another side. He is very rough. He is very loud. He is very disobedient. I have a big stack of papers I have documented behavior with Bob on since the beginning of school. Some instances are: his grandmother completed his homework for him (he admitted it.) He very rarely turns homework in. Every single time I have had a sub, he was sent to the office for not listening, would not be quiet, etc. He got into a fight on the playground. I will be LOOKING at him as he is in the process of doing something (chewing gum, talking, passing notes, etc.) and I will tell him he needs to stop. His automatic response is "I wasn't! I wasn't doing that!" I have caught him stealing, he constantly sits and breaks pencils and then complains he has none. He constantly leans back in his chair. On the playground, he is constantly doing things like climbing back up the slide, etc. I don't guess any one thing he has done has just been horrible, but it is constantly something.

His grades are not very good. He is passing, but it is with low C's. His handwriting is the most horrible handwriting I have ever seen. Every paper I give him, he wads it up and stuffs it somewhere. His desk is constantly full of garbage. He can find nothing.