problems with English language

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by kenny1999, Feb 24, 2011.

1. kenny1999

kenny1999 Rookie

Feb 24, 2011

hello i am a new English teacher, I have some questions about Eng language that I'd like to ask.

I am now teaching my students the topic of "Adjective Clauses"

Now, I have a questions. If I want to combine the following two sentences into one with the use of adjective clauses "whose". Which of the following answers should be correct? And how to explain it to my students?

The question is:

Q. Thailand Bank is an international bank. Its staff are very polite and efficient.

Which of the following answers is correct?

A. Thailand Bank whose staff are very polite and efficient is an international bank.

B. Thailand Bank is an international bank whose staff are very polite and efficient.

Actually I think B is correct but I don't know how to explain it to my students, and I also don't know their difference.

Hope some experienced persons would help. Thanks

3. Sshintaku

Sshintaku Comrade

Feb 24, 2011

"A" could be correct if it was phrased as an appositive:
    Thailand Bank, whose staff are very polite and efficient, is an international bank.

As it, it has a misplaced modifier (the verb follows "staff" rather than "bank."

4. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Feb 24, 2011

I can think of circumstances in which (or tweakings with which) each of the three versions in play would be appropriate:

A. Thailand Bank whose staff are very polite and efficient is an international bank, but Thailand Bank whose staff are rude is a local bank. In this sentence the relative clauses (the clauses beginning with whose) are restrictive: they tell us which Thailand Bank we're looking for. I would cheerfully wager my favorite chocolate that that's not what's wanted here, however.