Problems with assistant

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Lindsnh, Sep 22, 2008.

1. Lindsnh

Lindsnh Companion

Sep 22, 2008

I am a first year teacher in second grade. There are 6 second grade teachers and we have a floating assistant that comes in to each of our rooms for 45 minutes a day. I am having a problem with her trying to take over my class. Examples: Today we were watching a video I allowed a few students to move so they could see the screen. She yells at them "you don't need to move, go back to your desk" umm hello?? I am the teacher not you! She used to be the 6th grade assistant so I guess she is in that mindset. She calls parents w/o my permission to tell them their child is "talking" and it is starting problems between the parents and me. She always has a comment for everything, such as my procedures, my teaching , ect. She always arrives late to my class each time she is scheduled and has to leave to do "something". She is susposed to be assisting me, but I have yet to see that. :help:

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Sep 22, 2008

I would make a list of duties (or pull it from the handbook if available) and sit down with the assistant. Ask her what she is wanting to get out of being in your classroom, and then discuss what you would like to see from her in your classroom. Tell her that what she is doing is not acceptable. If she continues to do it then I would go to her supervisor or the principal. I wish you luck!

4. runnerss

runnerss Comrade

Sep 22, 2008

I agree with smalltowngal's advice. That is unacceptable with how she is behaving. I hope it gets better soon!

5. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Sep 22, 2008

I would talk to the other teachers on your team. See how they use her. Than I would sit down with her and tell her how things are going to work in your room. If need be pull the principal in on it. She should not be calling parents!

6. cutNglue

cutNglue Magnifico

Sep 22, 2008