Problem pencil sharpeners

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Mable, Aug 17, 2007.

1. Mable

Mable Enthusiast

Aug 17, 2007

Help.

I cannot find a pencil sharpener that works. I currently have 3 in my room and NONE work.

I have a manual one, a fancy electric that is brand new and another less expensive electric.

Anyone have a tried and true name brand of electric sharpener that has held up over the years? I need to get it.:D

3. bonneb

bonneb Fanatic

Aug 17, 2007

Let me know if you find out. I need a heavy duty electric. I will have to pay for it myself but I figure it will be worth it.

4. NJArt

NJArt Comrade

Aug 17, 2007

I'm an art teacher, and have finally found an electric pencil sharpener to survive an entire year in the art room (believe me, that's a rarity). It's an Xacto Electric Sharpener #41 by Boston. It is EXPENSIVE... about $160. You can buy it through Sax Art Supply. (they are on the internet, but I'm too much of a newbie to post a link) I've gone through so many sharpeners I can't tell you... usually several in a year. Even the $60 or $80 sharpeners wouldn't make it half way through the year. This one made it all last year and is still working.

5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 17, 2007

I've become quite adept at 'fixing' mine when it gets stubborn. Usually it's just jam packed with shavings. You need to nplug and really claen it out, sometimes take it apart and gt all the dust/shavings out. I have 3 in my room, have taken apart 2 of them and put back together and they all 3 have been working at least 4-5 years each...(I'm not an electrical person either- just unscrew, blow out the dust and screw back together) :lol:

6. Emma35

Emma35 Connoisseur

Aug 17, 2007

7. mom&teacher

mom&teacher Companion

Aug 17, 2007

Best Pencil Sharpener EVER!