Private Vs. Public

Discussion in 'General Education' started by MissFroggy, Sep 4, 2011.

1. MissFroggy

MissFroggy Aficionado

Sep 4, 2011

I met a teacher recently who really got under my skin. She is a public school teacher and I am a private school teacher.

I am certified and just finished my professional certificate and have a Masters. All of the teachers at my school have certificates and all but a couple have their Masters. My school is well known in the area, but is definitely a bit different than the mainstream, as we have a developmental, constructivist model and multi-age classrooms.

She was saying he thought the quality of teaching in private schools was not as good (he taught in a Catholic school and a Montessori for several years) and that the teachers weren't as up to date on practices. He felt all kids should go to public school and that parents were being deceived by the draw of private schools. He was surprised that all of us are certified and well-educated. I was annoyed by this. I realize a lot of private schools, particularly church schools don't require certification, but that isn't the case where I work.

At our school, our governing body that accredits us has amazing professional development and I feel like we are great teachers. We have lots of conversations about our practices and get to go to a lot of conferences and have opportunities to grow. We have had speakers come to us about brain development and all kinds of current research.

Anyway, is this a common belief? I was just so mad I almost left the party, but stayed, as the conversation changed and I let it go.

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Sep 4, 2011

I would have left, or at least walked away from the conversation. My job of combatting ignorance doesn't extend to adults who claim to be educated.

I'll put my own credentials and ability, and those of my coworkers, right up there with those of any other school.

4. teach'ntx

teach'ntx Comrade

Sep 4, 2011