Private School from Public School

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Guest, Aug 4, 2002.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Aug 4, 2002

I have been a fifth grade teacher for five years in public schools, all title one low income schools. I am starting this year in a private school with very high standards and extremely interested parents. I am a little worried about the difference in schools. Any ideas or experience?

3. Guest

Guest Guest

Aug 4, 2002

I have also just accepted a job teaching in a private school. I have just graduated, so this is my first job. I know that the demand from parents and staff seems overwhelming! But, for me, everyone seems to be concerned and really wants to help. So, I'm trying to look to this as a positive..and hope that its a good thing, rather than not!

4. Guest

Guest Guest

Aug 4, 2002

I taught for five years in a public school in the afernoons and mornings in a private school. Now I am in a private school only. I chose private school for reilgious reasons and it has been an absolute blessing. The parents are totally different, they have chosen to pay for their child's education so you know they are making a sacrifice for their child to be there. It is so nice. I would say be yourself, yes the expectations are far greater, but the benefits are too (as well as the teacher gifts :) Relax and enjoy!!

5. musicbug

musicbug Rookie

Aug 5, 2002

I taught in private schools early on my first years teaching. The kids are fine. Most of the parents are cooperative and helpful. Be prepared to go over and beyond. Without public school funding the extras depend on you( extras often include everything from the fine arts, computer literacy,PE;as well as all extra afterschool activities. It will be a great experience. I found I couldn't live on private school salaries so I had to move on to the public schools.

6. helpinghand

helpinghand Rookie

Aug 5, 2002