Principal walkthroughs at your school?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by K-5_teacherguy, Sep 23, 2015.

1. K-5_teacherguy

K-5_teacherguy Companion

Sep 23, 2015

If you have read some of my previous posts you may know that I am a first year teacher. In Ohio, teachers are evaluated using a system that requires two formal observations per year, as well as two formal walkthroughs every year.

My principal just started walkthroughs this week, and he has not hit my room yet. I feel like things are going well, but the fact that he could pop in at any moment makes me a little nervous. I've been told his walkthroughs last 15-20 minutes.

Anyway, I'm wondering how often your principal stops into your room? Whether for official visits or just to check in. And how often are you formally evaluated? I'm more curious than anything. Thanks for reading!

3. HistoryTeach4

HistoryTeach4 Rookie

Sep 23, 2015

Our principal last year would pop in from time to time. The only time he stayed longer than a minute or two was when he did an evaluation. Then it was the whole period. Our principal this year has popped in and sat down for 5 minutes or so before leaving. I guess it depends on the principal.

4. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Sep 23, 2015