principal observation!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by 2nd grade teach, Jan 21, 2007.

1. 2nd grade teach

2nd grade teach Rookie

Jan 21, 2007

I am a first year teacher, and the principal needs to observe me. I can do the lesson on anything, but it makes me nervous! She has always made a big deal about writing instruction and also teaching character to the students. I teach 2nd grade, does anyone have any creative lessons for either one of those topics, or any other topic?

3. TXTeacher4

TXTeacher4 Companion

Jan 22, 2007

I had to do that last year and I was nervous too. Just a suggestion for you... Don't do anything over the top. She wants to see how you really teach. Try not to show how nervous you are. The kids will pick up on it. Have fun and let her see how much the kids enjoy learning with you.

You can do a mini lesson on a character trait (courage, honesty, respect, responsibility) and then have them write about a time they showed that trait. Good luck!

4. ctopher

ctopher Comrade

Jan 22, 2007

I would share a book or portion of a book with the class.....maybe a Kevin Henkes title and talk about the character traits of one of the characters in the story. Then you might want to give the students an outline of one of the characters and have them brainstorm words that describe that character and then they can write about how they are similar and different to that character.

5. ChristyF

ChristyF Moderator

Jan 22, 2007

Whatever you choose to do, make it something that is similar to lessons you've done in the past. Don't put on a dog and pony show for the principal, it will show. Besides, if it is a type of lesson that you and your students haven't done, you will both be uncomfortable. When I am going to be observed, I'll tell them if it is a test, otherwise, I just do what I normally had planned for the day. Take a deep breath and just do a normal, everyday lesson. Good luck!!

6. kburen

kburen Cohort

Jan 22, 2007