Principal asking me to change exam scores

Discussion in 'General Education' started by limon, Nov 23, 2019.

1. limon

limon Rookie

Nov 23, 2019

Has anyone encountered a principal who made them basically change exams scores? I have been forced twice now to allow certain students who had very low F's or very pushy parents, to 'retake' exams and surprise! the low F's earned 100%. I did not proctor the exams.

I find this very disturbing and plan to leave at the end of the year as a result. This principal does not support me in front of parents, has not ever said kind or supportive things to me but is very critical and blames me for many of the issues that the students are doing themselves. He lets me know that he sides with the students in many ways and I find that shocking. I am an experienced teacher in a new district, and I have been very unhappy for many (obvious) reasons since I got here three months ago. What would you all do? Isn't it against the law to force teachers to change grades for only certain students? it seems grossly unfair and unethical and I am very concerned about my own professional future - : (

Tired Teacher likes this.
  3. ecteach

ecteach Devotee

Nov 23, 2019

Are these classroom tests or benchmark/state tests?

4. limon

limon Rookie

Nov 23, 2019

These are district exams. I didn't make them, and yes some students either didn't take them or scored low by not studying for them. I believe that he wants the high achieving students to get better scores because their parents have complained, which is what he initially told me. He made it clear that not all students are meant to take them, just the 'ones who want to, and show some effort at learning.' He also made it clear it was a disciplinary action for me and as a new teacher I was under the gun, and had to sign a formal document demonstrating that I understood this. I asked him if this was an official disciplinary action, and am waiting to hear back.

5. Tired Teacher