Preschool teacher jobs in North Carolina/Dallas

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by newpreschlteach, Sep 9, 2007.

1. newpreschlteach

newpreschlteach Rookie

Sep 9, 2007

Hi everybody,

This is my first posting in this forum. I need some advice.

I am currently working as a preschool teacher in San Jose. I am thinking of relocating to either Dallas or Raleigh, North Carolina. As I cannot find too many jobs online in either of these places, could anyone from either of these places give me some info regarding job prospects. I have a masters degree and am working on my ece credentials. I am interested in teaching ages 4 -7.

Thanks for your help.
    NewPreschoolTeacher

3. Master Pre-K

Master Pre-K Virtuoso

Sep 10, 2007

I will try to be positive, as nobody else has responded...but I must tell you, I am pretty depressed because my new job has not paid me

for the most part, you have to dig deep to find out what programs are out there..it seems to be a weird animal..so different from regular elementary...

see, for the most part in IL and CA...preschool has fallen into three categories. paid private, free public, and non-profit/Head Start

because these places have so many different funding sources, it is hard to find them. you can't just look up Head Start, since most are named after some person! i.e. Dorothy Sutton Head Start.

Private centers are pickier...and they usually don't pay anything
    Public school = state-pre-K are best, because you are part of the district, with pay and benefits, and decent hours.

so, that is my take on the subject.

I am pretty disgusted...and plan to get out of it. rather be an aide...I love little kids, and really love pre-k, but I can't stand the system in how teachers are treated!

good luck to you...
    you may want to consider expanding your certificate...so you have more options down the road...

4. loves2teach

loves2teach Enthusiast

Sep 10, 2007