Preschool or Substituting

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by dola0072, Jul 16, 2009.

1. dola0072

dola0072 Rookie

Jul 16, 2009

I am a preschool teacher. My ultimate goal is to be an elementary teacher. My degree is in elementary education but with the shortage of teaching jobs in my area I ended up at a private school teaching 3 and 4 year olds. I was just wondering if the schools would see my preschool teaching as experience since it is not in elementary. Would they see substituting as more experience or should I stay at my preschool if I cannot get a teaching job for the 2009-2010 school year. What do you think.

3. skittleroo

skittleroo Connoisseur

Jul 16, 2009

are there any academic in your preschool?

4. dola0072

dola0072 Rookie

Jul 17, 2009

Yes, we do have a curriculum that we follow and I also have to teach art, music, and physical education.

5. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Jul 17, 2009

dola,
    It may be different in different places,but I know that preschool experience is not counted as teaching experience where I am at. Neither is child care, afterschool programs (like YMCA or Parks and Rec), babysitting, or one-on-one tutoring. The only exception is that it can give you a leg up in getting a PreK position in public school -- but those positions are next to impossible to get with a huge line of people wanting them (you get paid elementary school money, and summers off, for teaching PreK.) Also, for PreK in public school here, you have to have a PreK certification (and most people have K-6 or K-4, or K-8.) A preK cert is an early childhood certification. Our state is having a huge push for preK classes right now, and in the past 2 years we have gone from having 1 full-day preK class to 7 full-day preK classes. It is just amazing to see these little ones in school each day. :)

I hope there are some people from your state who can give you an answer more specific to your state.

6. punchinello

punchinello Comrade

Jul 17, 2009