Preschool aged interview

Discussion in 'General Education' started by kgamb426, Aug 2, 2017.

1. kgamb426

kgamb426 Guest

Aug 2, 2017

Hi guys! So I have an interview for a preschool aged classroom and I have to do a sample lesson while I'm there. Lesson planning is one of my fav things to do so I right away starting looking things up and brainstorming ideas. I quickly found something fun to do but I'm worried it may take longer than I want it to. They gave me a 15-20 min time frame. I'm also afraid of it going too fast, so isn't it better to over prepare? How long do you guys think this lesson would take? I'm a fairly new teacher and still working on time management :)

Mix It Up! Lesson

Materials:

Mix It Up! By Herve Tullet

10- Plastic bags sealed and filled with blue paint, red paint and shaving cream

10- Plastic bags sealed and filled with red paint, yellow paint and shaving cream

10- Plastic bags sealed and filled with yellow paint, blue paint and shaving cream

Large chart paper

Markers

Implementation:

· Teacher will gather children onto the carpet

· Teacher will go over good listening behaviors such as quiet mouths, hands in lap, raising hands

· Teacher will begin to read Mix It Up! As story permits, the teacher will invite students to come up to interact with the book

· Teacher will call on students to make predictions about what might happen in the story

· Teacher will discuss which colors each primary colors make when they are mixed

· Teacher will explain to students that they are going to be investigators to make sure that this book is telling us the truth about these colors

· Teacher will explain to students that a prediction is when you use what you already know to make a good guess of what you think will happen

· Teacher will tell students that they will each be separated into 3 groups and each groups job is to prove that our predictions are correct

· Teacher will write “Our Predictions” at the top of a piece of paper