PreK with no assistant...anyone one else? Plus, behavior management tips needed!

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by PreK4/5, Sep 9, 2012.

1. PreK4/5

PreK4/5 New Member

Sep 9, 2012

Hi. This is my first year teaching Pre-K in my elementary school. This is my 10th year of teaching, and I have taught every grade from K-3rd. This year, I have a Pre-K 4/5 year old class of 11 students. Originally, I was told that I would have an aide like the other two sections of preschool at my school. However, since my class size is small, the aide was pulled to another class and now I have no assistance.

My question is this- Is there anyone else on here that doesn't have an aide in Pre-K? How do you manage small group instruction time? How do you handle assisting a child in the bathroom and leaving the rest of the class alone in the bigger area of the room? This has happened four times already and tomorrow is only the 4th day of school! How do you handle taking the kids outside for playtime, only to have a student tell you five minutes later that they need to use the bathroom (even after everyone just went before coming outside!) again. With no aide, I have to line everyone back up to go back inside to take that 1 child to the restroom. What do you do??