PreK-3

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Starista, Aug 12, 2014.

1. Starista

Starista Cohort

Aug 12, 2014

Hi there You Wonderful PreK teachers! I am a fourth grade teacher who also happens to be a mother of a boy entering PreK-3 at a wonderful Catholic school. I am wondering if you could kindly (when time permits) share if there are any skills (academic/social/otherwise) that he will have to master by the end of the year. He is a very social child, but not very interested in coloring or attempting to learn to write his letters. He loves to play, cut, glue and sing.

Thank you so much for all you do for our littlest ones. :hugs:

3. mandamouse123

mandamouse123 Rookie

Aug 12, 2014

For a threes class, I would expect by the end of the year:

Independently using the bathroom: pulling down/up clothes, wiping, washing hands

Sit + listen to short stories

Follow 1-2 step directions

recognize written name

recognize several letters from name

use spoon and fork mostly when appropriate

count to 10 verbally

hold book correctly, turn pages 1 by 1

Pennsylvania has good standards if you're interested in checking them out here. Look for the older toddler parts.

As for writing his name/letters, I wouldn't stress it. It'll come when he's ready. In the mean time, playing with toys that have letters on them (like blocks or stamps) will begin to familiarize your son with the shapes of the letters, which is a good first step.

4. mandamouse123

mandamouse123 Rookie

Aug 12, 2014

Also, I completely forgot about shapes/colors. Threes should be well on their way to knowing all/most shapes and colors.

5. Starista

Starista Cohort

Aug 13, 2014

I cannot thank you enough for this input. Thank you so much for this. If you ever need anything from a fourth grade teacher, please ask me! I'm very nervous about nap time. He still has accidents during nap when in underwear and sleeps at nighttime in a diaper. Should I share that concern with his teacher? Thanks!

Katey