Pre-Test Freak out

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by wcormode, Aug 27, 2010.

1. wcormode

wcormode Rookie

Aug 27, 2010

So I gave a pre-test in my math classes and eventhough I spent a lot of time telling them to not worry about how many they knew and that they would all get 100% in the gradebook and that it was stuff they would be learning this year, they still freaked out. A senior transferred out of my class. The foreign exchange students all asked me if they should move to an easier class.

I am a first year teacher so maybe this is typical or maybe this is why some teachers or schools have stopped the pre-test. I dunno.

3. apple25

apple25 Comrade

Aug 28, 2010

I think pre-tests are a great idea for formative assessment. It lets you know exactly your students strengths and weaknesses so you can modify your teaching accordingly. I've never used one that covered ALL the material they will be learning in a year, however. I can see how that may scare some. But, you did tell them it wasn't worth marks. Maybe they got freaked out with the amount of new material they were expected to learn?

Could you perhaps give them a simplified year plan showing how they will have lots of time to learn the material? It may ease their minds.

4. fratermus

fratermus Companion

Aug 28, 2010

Maybe pre-load the test with a comparison to some PE pre-test they took at the beginning of the year in grade school. They couldn't do many pull-ups or run very fast/far, but they progressed nicely over time.

Since they seem to be older, maybe compare it to learning stick if any have? Any stick driver will be able to testify to rough beginnings and later mastery.

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Aug 28, 2010

Do they have any idea why they're being tested???

I think I would begin with an introduction:

I have good news and bad news for you:

The bad news: tomorrow you're taking a test.

The good news: it doesn't count, at least not for you.