Pre-K Sight Words?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by TXMom&Teacher, Sep 17, 2010.

1. TXMom&Teacher

TXMom&Teacher Rookie

Sep 17, 2010

This week I began teaching at a new preschool, I am teaching Pre-K. The Director has asked that I look up Pre-K sight words, teach and hang them on the wall. I am not sure what I have searched for on the internet is accurate. Does anyone here have a Pre-K Sight word list? Thanks for any help.

:)

3. scmom

scmom Enthusiast

Sep 17, 2010

Vanna probably disagrees, but I am not a proponent of pushing sight words on preschoolers. I would put up their names at the beginning of the year and see the level and interests of your children before I went further.

4. TeacherApr

TeacherApr Groupie

Sep 18, 2010

sight words...for PRESCHOOL? um, no...sorry. Kindergarten words are: a, an, the and so on. PRESCHOOL should be learning the alphabet and learning how to write their names.

(FYI: minor in early childhood education. Just so you know I'm not talking out of my butt lol)

5. Miller59

Miller59 Companion

Sep 18, 2010

You can search for Fry's or Dolch words. I made up my own list of 10 words to introduce this year. I started with my and am very gently starting to call attention to it at Morning Meeting.

I personally think sight words can have a place, depending on your group, and the important thing is in how you present and teach the word. This year out of my 3 who will go to Kindergarten next year -- I have 1 child reading fairly fluently, 1 who knows some sounds, and 1 who is just barely starting to understand the whole sound letter relationship. Then I have the kids who will be in PreK again next year and they are all over the place with these skills. They can all find the word my in our morning message after 2 weeks.

6. vannapk

vannapk Groupie

Sep 18, 2010