Pre-K 3-year-olds HELP

Discussion in 'Early Childhood Education Archives' started by mschristinam, Sep 21, 2004.

1. mschristinam

mschristinam New Member

Sep 21, 2004

Hi,
    I am a brandnew teacher who majored in education but did not go for teaching purposes so I did not student teach or get licensed. I decided what the heck and got a job teaching pre-k 3-year-olds. HELP, I have 21 CRAZY kids. :mad: THe management does not help me in any way w/ curriculum or what I should be teaching...thus I don't know what my day should look like. As of now it looks like this:
    8:30-9 Morning Snack (Fine-mandatory time)
    9-9:40 Morning Circle/Nursery Rhymes (DISASTER...too many kids)
    10-10:40 Rotate groups for Number Learning 1/2 learning 1/2 centers (Yikes)
    10:40-11:20 Rotate groups for Letter Learning 1/2 learning 1/2 centers (Yikes)
    11:20-11:30 Whole Group Movement/Dancing (Getting Worse)
    11:30-12 Lunch (fine-mandatory)
    12-2:30 Nap (Fine-mandatory)
    2:30-3 Snack (Fine-mandatory)
    3-4- I HAVE NO IDEA
    Soooo basically I need help. Does anyone teach this age group and have a great centers rotation they use? or curriculum that works? How much do I plan for the centers? Do I actually teach? Or do I facilitate? Any help would be amazing because I am stressed to the max. Teaching 21 kids w/ two aids seems like too much...I need to find a great way to divide the class into 3 groups without teaching a TON.

3. Lauren

Lauren Guest

Sep 21, 2004

Hi,

I am an undergraduate Bachelor of Education (Early Childhood) student at QUT, Australia and I also work two full days a week in an Early Childhood setting.

When I work in the pre-kindergarten room (2 1/2-3 1/2 year olds) this is how the day follows...

7-8:30 - All children play outside together (mixed ages)
    8:30-9:00 - First Group Time: Song/Story/Nursery Rhymes/Puppets (to try and settle them down some)
    9:00 TRANSITION to bathroom and morning tea - Very Important!!
    9ish Morning Tea