Praxis Ii

Discussion in 'Multiple Subject Tests' started by cinmcl61, Nov 11, 2005.

1. cinmcl61

cinmcl61 Rookie

Nov 11, 2005

So NH teachers are not HQT according to the federal government. So now we are required to take the Praxis II in Elementray Education or a note will go home saying we are not HQT. I started my education late (I was 40 when I went back to school). I did not do well on the practice test since this was stuff I learned in the 70's.

So my question - how many have you have had to take this test. There are workshops to get ready for the test but these are pricy and they are all day in each subject. It has been years since I learned this stuff and since I am a new teacher I am very nervous.

Any advice would be appreciated.

3. Miss W

Miss W Phenom

Nov 11, 2005

I've taken it. Study your theorists. When you do the case studies, be able to back everything up.

4. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Nov 11, 2005

I would see if your school system would pay for a Praxis II workshop for those of you that need to take it. I'm sure you aren't the only one.

5. TeacherC

TeacherC Connoisseur

Nov 11, 2005

I took it, it wasn't all that bad. My best advice is to go to the website and buy the books!! They are expensive, but it is worth it because they explain everything to you...why and answer is best or not. I was able to resell mine on Ebay for only like $5 less than what I originally paide for them. You might even be able to find them at a library. In any case, I thought they were a big help.

6. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Nov 11, 2005

What are the books? Praxis II written by?

7. cinmcl61

cinmcl61 Rookie

Nov 11, 2005

I am in a poor district and the workshops and the test will not be paid for - we have to do this on our own. I just feel that it has been so long since I have studied any of this stuff - I am hoping the workshops and the books are helpful.