Praxis II Social Studies (5081)

Discussion in 'Multiple Subject Tests' started by CKG7783, Mar 20, 2015.

1. CKG7783

CKG7783 New Member

Mar 20, 2015

Just took the Social Studies (5081) for the second time and received the same score. I need to pass this test by August, I've been offered two positions as a Social Studies teacher for Sept and I'm afraid I just won't get it because of not being able to pass the test. I used XAMONLINE study guide and I feel like nothing I studied was on the test, the sample questions were watered down compared to the actual test. I do well on test but horrible on standardized test. Can anyone offer any advice on passing the test? What study guides are the best to use? I've already signed up for another test date in April. I don't care if I have to take this test every month

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Mar 20, 2015

What's your background in social studies?

4. CKG7783

CKG7783 New Member

Mar 23, 2015

I graduated with a BS in Social Studies in 2012. I've been working as a special ed paraprofessional for 6 yrs. I have tons of experience, I just suck at standardized test. I'm taking the test again in a few weeks and plan on taking it until I pass. I just feel like it's a shot in the wind, maybe 7-10 questions I recognized from the study guide.

5. vateacher757

vateacher757 Cohort

Mar 23, 2015

I know the feeling although I did not have a degree in Social Studies I love the subject and feel as though I am pretty knowledgeable. I have spent the last 2 years in as a para in an inclusion setting in Govt, Civics, Econ, US History and World History and still with all of the studying I did I did not pass so I too am studying again to retake in May.

Most of the questions I had were not topics that I have seen covered in the classrooms that I have been in so it baffles me as to what we are being tested on to know when it is not what we are teaching in the calssroom.