Praxis II 0041 ran out of time

Discussion in 'Multiple Subject Tests' started by Tchr20yrslatr, Apr 14, 2013.

1. Tchr20yrslatr

Tchr20yrslatr New Member

Apr 14, 2013

Background: I'm a career-switcher with a degree in English Lit. I graduated in 1996 (YIKES!) and took the paper-based Praxis 2 0041 yesterday. After studying for about 3 weeks, I took about 5 practice tests, scoring 175-195 (30 wrong to 12 wrong) on each. However, I ran out of time on the Praxis 2 yesterday, leaving 2 blank and guessing on 4. My weakness (most incorrect answers) has always been the Language & Linguistics portion of the test.
    Question: Should I re-take the same (computer-based) test before I receive my scores? I am afraid that receiving a failing score will psyche me out for future tests (if need be.) I have to have a passing grade by 8/9/2013 to get into my program.

3. donziejo

donziejo Devotee

Apr 14, 2013

What score do you need to pass? I took this same test a few years back. I ran out of time too. I panicked and almost canceled out the score. However, I didn't, but I walked out of there sure I failed. I passed! I think I needed 150 or 155. I got 10 points higher then I needed.

At the time I took the test I had to cancel out before I left the test site. Can you still cancel out? Anyway, good luck to you. I wouldn't cancel out. If you don't pass, the test gives you a break down of how you tested. That could help you in the future.

4. Tchr20yrslatr

Tchr20yrslatr New Member

Apr 14, 2013

172 is a passing score in VA...

5. donziejo

donziejo Devotee

Apr 14, 2013

I went to the ETS site. I took the test in Utah, and the score needed is 168. I got 178. I should have checked instead of going on memory!!!! You only left 2 blank and 4 guess, right?