Praxis 5081 Social Studies Content Knowledge Exam Question

Discussion in 'Single Subject Tests' started by DRuggles, May 15, 2015.

1. DRuggles

DRuggles Rookie

May 15, 2015

Hey all, this is my first post on this board. Little back story....I am a History/Education graduate (2005) who never passed the Social Studies Content Knowledge Praxis. I got into the family business of Real Estate appraising. I last took the test in 2010-2012 range. Business is going well, but not passing this exam really weighed on me. Last month I signed up for the exam and studied hard. I just finished the exam this morning. Instead of going to my old college for the paper exam, it is now computerized. Going into the exam, I took a bunch of practice exams that were offered from Praxis (the recent one and the one they offered from 2010-2012 that I still had). Both of these practice exams give the "Raw" score as well as the area break down. I had an old Score Conversion Table (from Praxis).

Anyway....I take the computer exam this morning. I knew I wouldn't get the total score of the "pass/fail" afterwards....however, at the very end, it gave the "Raw Score" of having each category (US History, World History, etc. etc.) with my score after it. The total combined number was 80 (16-17-16-6-16-9 for all the subjects, respectively). Now, on the old Score Conversion Table from Praxis, this is a Scaled Score of 168 (btw, I need a 156 to pass). I called the Praxis Center and they said that was my RAW score, but they would be grading it (each question is weighted differently).

My question is....should this be close to or good enough to pass? ANY feedback would be greatly appreciated as this as been a big hurdle in my life! Thank you in advance! :)

3. DRuggles

DRuggles Rookie

Jun 5, 2015