Praxis 3

Discussion in 'Other Tests' started by ohteach, Jan 23, 2006.

1. ohteach

ohteach Companion

Jan 23, 2006

I am a 1st year teacher so I get to take the lovely Praxis 3 test to keep my Ohio cert. My assesor will be calling soon to set up a day and time to come observe me. Does anyone have any advice? My biggest concern is how much time to have her come and observe me. I am planning about 30 min. but I think they want more then that. Has anyone taken this yet? What should I expect? I am luckily going to a wrokshop in order to help me fill out the paperwork so that will answer some questions I guess.

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jan 23, 2006

Thanks, kdunker.

All right, veterans: let's have some answers here, please.

4. ohteach

ohteach Companion

Jan 23, 2006

Yes please! Save me from the stress!!!!!!! lol

5. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jan 23, 2006

Stress, hmm?

So let me take stock: you're doing Praxis III so you can KEEP your certification, yes? Which implies that you've already got it, which implies that you're in the classroom now, yes?

6. ohteach

ohteach Companion

Jan 23, 2006

I am already in the classroom and currently hold a 2 year provisional cert. In Ohio as a first year teacher (which I am) you are required by the state to take Praxis 3 in order to get a 5 year (I think) certificate. Basically with Praxis 3 someone from the state comes in an observes me teaching a lesson. I have a pre-interview and a post-interview in which this person asks me questions based on the 4 Praxis domains. I have to answer questions as well as show evidance in some cases of how I demonstarted these domains.

7. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jan 24, 2006

Have you gotten pretty comfortable with the teaching routine, at this point in the year? Is there anyone who's mentoring or overseeing you, one way or another, who's had occasion to see you in action?