Potential Interview with KIPP

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by emmakate218, Apr 11, 2010.

1. emmakate218

emmakate218 Connoisseur

Apr 11, 2010

In an attempt to find a teaching position this year, I am expanding my search beyond the Austin area to include the Houston and DFW areas. I have a strong desire to move and I have my eyes set on Houston - for numerous reasons.

I applied with the KIPP system in Houston and last week, sent my resume to a new school that will open for the upcoming school year. I graduated two years ago with my education degree and certification and have subbed for two years. As I expected, the director wants to interview me - not for a lead teaching position, but a teaching fellows position. KIPP's teaching fellows are new teachers that teach alongside an "experienced" lead teacher for a year and then become a lead teacher (if they do well, that is!). I have no problem with this really...as long as the position has a salary that a person can actually live off of! Salary information isn't readily available, but according to AEIS reports on nearby KIPP schools, I know what lead teachers make and it's more than comparable to the local school districts. I also discovered that teaching fellows at a new KIPP school in the Austin area make a "doable" salary. Ugh. I just don't want to make the drive to Houston to interview with the director if the salary is ridiculous. Like I said, I don't mind working alongside "experienced" teachers because I think it'd be a great opportunity to learn and grow. I also don't mind not making the full lead teacher salary if it means I'd be make it after one year of being a fellow and as long as the salary would be "doable."

I guess what I'm looking for is encouragement. :) Ha ha.

3. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Apr 11, 2010

Good luck! Will you be working until 6 (I believe that's when school gets out)? Will you also be on-call until 9 or so. Just be aware of the long hours.

4. bandnerdtx