Possibly don't want to be a teacher anymore

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by blessedhands, Oct 12, 2008.

1. blessedhands

blessedhands Comrade

Oct 12, 2008

I am in my final year of College and by Spring 09 will officially begin the student teaching process. Ever since I was a lil girl I wanted to become a teacher. I don't see my self doing anything else but that. After I moved from Jamaica, WI I still have that dream and is pursuing it now. However, after observing in the USA High School I find that I still love teaching but, these kids are much different from what I am use to and it is discouraging me tons.

It is more work especially paperwork than anticipated and the lack of respect for authority is atrocious. I do LOVE teaching, I DO care for the kids, I DO bask in their abilities to learn, I DO enjoy coming to school to see them but this long drawn out STUDENT teaching process is making me nervous and fearful that I sometimes get unhappy and totally turned off from wanting to teach. But my heart is saying "this is you- this is what you love to do. This is what you were born to do."

Is it that I am getting cold feet and becoming overwhelmed with what I see in the school systems or is it that I am truly stressed out about the ST-teaching process? I think it might be both.

What do you have to say? I welcome constructive critisms and suggestions.

Thank you.

3. KLily21

KLily21 Companion

Oct 12, 2008

Student teaching is a very stressful process. Once you have your own classroom you will have so much more control over your daily routine. Students can be disrespectful, but only if you allow them to be. You have the ability to control their behavior a lot more than you think.

I wish I could say the paperwork dies down after student teaching, but that would be a lie.

It sounds like your heart is in this. I wouldn't give up this late in your pursuit of your dream! Hang in there! We're here for you!

4. blessedhands

blessedhands Comrade