Positive Behavior System

Discussion in 'Behavior Management Archives' started by Grade1tchr, Aug 4, 2006.

1. Grade1tchr

Grade1tchr New Member

Aug 4, 2006

Our school is implementing a "Positive Behavior System" this year. It totally focuses on the concept of catching kids doing something right and ignoring/redirecting unacceptable behaviors. We're all new to this and not sure how it's going to work. We have taken down our 'behavior charts' and our list of 'consequences' and posted "Rewards" and "Ticket keepers" ( to keep tickets they earn when caught being good.)
    Does anyone have experience with this system in your school and if so, what was it like? Any suggestions on non-tangible motivators?

3. kinderteach3

kinderteach3 Rookie

Aug 5, 2006

Hi there,
    I'm new to this as well, but I can tell you what I plan to do with it this year. (Last year I used the pull-card system and my principal pointed out it only focused on negative behavior, thus my changing to a positive plan this year). I am planning to discuss thoroughly with the kids my expectations and model proper behavior. Each student will have a sticker chart and when they are "caught" being good they will earn a sticker. At first it will be a small number of stickers (about 10) then when they earn that many stickers they get to pick a prize... not a prize box prize though. I've come up with some other "reward" coupons that they can cash in. For example: "Help Miss M. feed Skeeter" (class fish), "Sit with Miss M at snack" "Take care of Misty for the day" (stuffed unicorn that will sit with them), "Bring in a book to share with the class" "Bring in a show and tell for the class", etc. (Keep in mind I teach K, so these are things they get VERY excited about). As the year progresses it will probably become more difficult to earn stickers and probably will need more (15-20). Hope this helps... if you have any feed back, questions, or other ideas!!! please share!

4. synapse

synapse Comrade

Aug 9, 2006