portable?? VENT

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by MissT34, Aug 8, 2011.

1. MissT34

MissT34 Companion

Aug 8, 2011

I haven't signed my contract yet, but my school has asked me to go and start fixing my room, attending new teacher orientations and all that good stuff. Today was the first orientation at the campus. I showed up at 8:30 and the second teacher that was hired was already there.

When I spoke to the P about the position, she said that I was the first person she was interviewing and recommending so I would be placed in class#ABC and the 2nd teacher would likely get a portable. This morning, when the teachers asked me what room I was in, I said "I think #ABC" and they said "Oh, i thought Ms. 2ndNewTeacher was staying here". Ummm, WHAT?? The P is at a meeting until later this afternoon so she'll be meeting with all of us for a brief grade level meeting. I hope she rememebers what she had told me. It's not that I dont want to be in a portable, but it's my first year, and all the other 3rd grade teachers are all in the same hallway. I'm going to feel like the oddball stuck outside with no one to ask for help. What can I say to voice my concerns without sounding like im whining or unappreciative? I feel like this other new teacher thinks she gets the room because she has experience there, but they just barely called her on Friday, she hadnt even applied at that district! Vent Over! :unsure::mad::blush::yawn::dizzy::(

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Aug 8, 2011

I wouldn't say anything.

You've landed a job in an impossible market.

And it's not the teacher's call as to who teaches where, it's the principal's. So hang tight and take the room you're assigned.

4. terptoteacher

terptoteacher Connoisseur

Aug 8, 2011

I really enjoyed my year in a portable. It was harder for anyone to just pop in and observe. I didn't have to worry about the noise level.