Please tell me about teaching K/1st

Discussion in 'General Education' started by OptimusPrime, Nov 28, 2012.

1. OptimusPrime

OptimusPrime New Member

Nov 28, 2012

I'm a 28 year old student thinking about switching from a writing major to an education major. I would love some input from Actual Teachers!

If I teach anything, I think I'd like to teach kindergarten or 1st grade. I have experience working with kids between four and seven, and I really enjoy working with them. I have worked in a school as a teacher's assistant, mostly for the Pre-k, K and 1st classes. I also ran the after school program for K-2. So, I've never had a classroom of my own, but I have some experience with being the sole adult in charge of 20 five to seven year olds.

Every day care or school job I've ever had has been very tiring, and fairly stressful, but those have been the jobs that I loved the most, and in which I found myself most fulfilled. I'm good with that age, and I think I'd be a pretty great Kindy teacher. :)

I realize there will be differences in every state, district and school, but if you could give me a picture of how an average day goes for you, I would really appreciate it. What does an average day look like for you? How much autonomy do you have in your classroom-- how much are you regulated in what you do? What are your stress levels like? Basically, what is it like to teach Kindergarten or 1st grade?

Thanks in advance!

3. EMonkey

EMonkey Connoisseur

Nov 28, 2012

I would advise you not to expect to teach at a certain grade if you are planning on teaching elementary school. The likelihood of you getting K or first your first year teaching is at best two out of six. Most people are hired by the school or district and placed at whatever grade the school needs a teacher in.

4. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Nov 28, 2012

Since you have some experiene with the young ones, why not volunteer at a school working with the older grade students?