Please share your organization ideas!!!!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by mandateaches, Jul 21, 2017.

1. mandateaches

mandateaches New Member

Jul 21, 2017

Hello,
    I am a 6th grade math teacher preparing to start my 2nd year of teaching. I have students keep a warm up notebook in my class room. Last year, these just got thrown on shelves sorted by class. This was quite messy and resulted in a book shelf social at the beginning of each class. I have considered just making students keep up with the notebooks but 6th graders struggle to keep up with their binders and they are not allowed to carry their book bags during the day, so we like to limit what they need to carry around. I want to know what you all are using to organize student materials such as warm up books, work books, interactive note books, etc.
    Thank you!

3. OneBerry

OneBerry Comrade

Jul 21, 2017

That can definitely be a challenge. Here are some ideas. Not saying any of them is a magic fix!
    - Keep the notebooks for each class in a box/crate. Between periods, stick the box for the next period in the hallway right outside the door. Teach the procedure for students to pick up their notebook on the way into the classroom. This will probably just transfer the socializing from your shelves to the hallway, but depending on your feelings on socialization between class periods, that can be considered an improvement.
    - Assign 1-2 students to distribute and collect notebooks for the whole class.
    - Gather and distribute notebooks by row, column, or table group instead of for the whole class. Keep them in drawers of a plastic storage unit or something else easy to grab from. The first student in each group to arrive grabs the bag/stack for their group.

Last edited: Jul 24, 2017
    otterpop and mandateaches like this.
  4. mandateaches

mandateaches New Member

Jul 21, 2017