Please please chime in with advice..

Discussion in 'General Education' started by MissT34, Sep 1, 2011.

1. MissT34

MissT34 Companion

Sep 1, 2011

I'm a first year teacher, teaching 3rd grade and it's been a very tough 2 weeks of school. I've been in a temporary room with my class due to lack of rooms and the portables were barely being installed. Today, I get called into the office and the P informs me that due to numbers, I will be reassigned to another campus, and a different grade level. I'm freaking out.:help:

I'll be teaching 4th, and I'm so worried about teaching writing! I'm really overwhelmed right now. I have a training to attend tomorrow, so I won't be with my kiddos, and there are no classes on Monday due to Labor Day, so really, I'll be informing my kids on Tuesday morning that I'll no longer be their teacher, then sending them off to their new classrooms. I'm so heartbroken. I had already grown attached to them, they're a great group. Any advice on how to make the transition for the kids (and myself) easier is welcomed and appreciated!

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Sep 2, 2011

Deep breaths.

One of the hallmarks of a good teacher is flexibility. You're certified to teach 4th grade and that's where the job is, so you teach 4th grade.

You approach it on Tuesday as an adventure. Tell the kids they'll have a clean slate-- their new teacher has no idea who the "smart" kids are, which ones have had trouble being good, which ones have had their cards turned (or whatever). And promise you'll keep in touch.

Then go meet your new class with enthusiasm and professionalism. Find out today what they're up to in each subject, get textbooks and other materials, and take advantage of the 3 day weekend to prep.

Good luck!

4. stephenpe

stephenpe Connoisseur

Sep 2, 2011

Lifes a @&$^ and then the move you to a new grade.
    alice is dead on with her advice. Read "Who Moved My Cheese"
    three times this weekend. (you can read it in 30 minutes).